MONTGOMERY COUNTY ESD 1 MONTGOMERY COUNTY, TEXAS

The Board of Commissioners of Montgomery County ESD 1, convened in session via video conference call on June 17, 2020 with the following Board Members to-wit:

Members Present: J. Steven Weisinger, President

Chuck Frank, Vice President Sharene Carr, Treasurer

David Cooper, Assistant Treasurer/Secretary

The regular meeting of Montgomery County ESD 1 was called to order on June 17, 2020 at 6:03 P.M. by President J. Steven Weisinger. All members were present, therefore constituting a quorum. Also present were Fire Chief Jason Oliphant, Assistant Chief Shane Houser, Office Administrator Crystal LaCaze, Attorney John Peeler, and Accountant Brian Desilets.

No Public Comments were offered under item 2 of the agenda.

Addressing item 3 of the agenda regarding minutes from the prior meeting, the Board took action on the following:

Upon a motion made by Commissioner Frank and seconded by Commissioner Cooper, the Board voted unanimously to accept and approve the regular meeting minutes held on May 20, 2020 and the Special Called meeting minutes held on May 28, 2020.

Addressing item 4 of the agenda regarding financial matters, the Board took action on the following: Upon a motion made by Commissioner Frank and seconded by Commissioner Carr, the Board voted unanimously to accept the bookkeepers report as presented by Accountant Brian Desilets and to approve payment of the District's monthly bills.

Addressing item 5a of the agenda, Chief Oliphant requested permission from the Board to authorize the Building Committee to interview and hire an Architect to start the process of building a Logistics/Maintenance Facility behind Station 95. Upon a motion made by Commissioner Carr and seconded by Commissioner Frank the Board voted unanimously to authorize the building committee to interview perspective Architects for the additional Logistics/Maintenance Facility.

In addition, under item 5a of the agenda, Commissioner Weisinger informed the board that he spoke with Marshall Holmes from Cokinos regarding the pending Station 95 litigation. Marshall informed Commissioner Weisinger that they are currently working with Grossman's counsel regarding the terms of the settlement and release.

Addressing item 6a of the agenda, Attorney Peeler had discussions with the Board in regards to SB2. The Board agreed to schedule a meeting on August 10, 2020 at 9:00 A.M. to propose the new Tax Rate. Office Administrator, Crystal LaCaze, will contact Tax Assessor's office in regards to the Public Hearing Notice dates and time frames to meet all deadlines. Crystal will contact the board once she gets clarification to set Public Hearing date and date of meeting to adopt new tax rate.

Addressing item 6b of the agenda, Chief Oliphant stated that he would like to have a Special Called meeting to discuss and go over the 2020-2021 proposed budget in detail with the entire Board. The Board agreed to schedule a Special Called meeting at 6:00 P.M on July 13, 2020 in regards to budget planning and discussions.

Addressing item 6c of the agenda, upon a motion made by Commissioner Weisinger and seconded by Commissioner Frank the Board voted unanimously to ratify the existing contract for delinquent tax collections, maintaining the contract with delinquent tax collections counsel and imposing the 20% penalties under Tax Code sections 33.07, 33.08 and 33.11.

Addressing item 13 of the Agenda, Chief Oliphant informed the Board that the Department currently has one employee in isolation due to possible exposure to Covid-19. Chief Oliphant also stated that the employees who were in isolation during the month of May are all healthy and doing well.

Chief Oliphant presented the monthly call volume report.

No requests for agenda items were made for the next meeting under item 13 of the agenda.

There being no further business, upon a motion made by Commissioner Frank and seconded by Commissioner Carr, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn at 7:39 P.M.

Crystal LaCaze

District Office Manager and Administrative Secretary Montgomery County ESD 1